[MV Review] RM (Rap Monster) & Wale – “Change”

One of the strangest collabs turns out to be pretty good.

If you would have told me that Rap Monster and Wale would have collaborated a year or two ago, I wouldn’t have believed you. But seeing as BTS are everywhere these days and more Western acts have taken interest in them, it seems kind of like “yeah I could see it.” Still doesn’t make it any less strange though, since Wale is most known for his breakout single about a perfume back when I was in middle school, still the jam though:

Anyway there are three main things I like about “Change” – the instrumental, the lyrical content, and the music video.

The instrumental is slick eletro rap with a hint of jazz. It’s totally up my alley and I love how dynamic it is, especially the breakdown towards the end providing a great pause from the rest of the instrumental. The track in general is a banger and I could totally see myself listening to this more times.

As an appreciator of “conscious” rap music, I dig the lyrical content. Wale isn’t known for his skills but he pulls through well, and given Rap Monster’s first language isn’t English (yet he’s one of the most comprehensible idols when it comes to English) he does fine here as well. Their performances are impressing here and while it isn’t Joey and Tablo, I don’t think that’s what they were going for.

The music video is one of the best of the year, it suits the message of the song pretty perfectly. I’m digging the futuristic yet present aesthetic. They also included people of all different races which is always appreciated.

In the end one of the strangest collabs in K-pop is one of my favorites. The vibe of it all is something I dig and I can see it remaining one of my favorites for a very long time.

Author: suhoftw

This is a blog about K-pop, I do reviews and sometimes opinion pieces+editorials and random shitposts.

Leave a Reply

