[MV Review] BTS – “Spring Day” and “Not Today”

BTS comeback with their repackage of “Wings” and two brand new songs that are both pretty cool.

Spring Day is BTS’s most K-pop-like ballad, and even then it’s not even completely conventional. It’s both melancholy and uplifting at the same time, both BTS and not BTS at the same time. It’s a bit of a hoge-poge in that respect. I particularly like how distorted and cooky it sounds. Not my favorite BTS track, and I’ll probably only listen to it when I’m in the mood to listen to it, but it’s not terrible by any stretch. As long as BTS doesn’t release offensively bad shit like “Boy In Luv” again, they’ll always be good in my books.

 The music video is gorgeous and all of the members look great. The scenery is beautiful, and it has a very “Polar Express” during the summer vibe that I love. There are tons of things for ARMYs to pick apart and make theories out of that I’ll gladly divulge in which is a sign of a good BTS video these days.
*Not Today MV wouldn’t embed*
Not Today fucking rocks and is everything one could want from a BTS song: loud, makes a statement, intense, and a great crow-surfing floor stomping track. The verses are nice and gritty and the chorus is uplifting and grand. The message behind the song is also pretty nice and shows that while BTS has grown as a group, they haven’t fully grown out of their roots.
 Of course the visuals are stellar here. THIS IS NAMJOON’S ERA!
Of course Jimin is cute as fuck.
UNF.
In the end, this was a great comeback for BTS and I can’t wait until I get my copy of You Never Walk Alone in the mail.
Author: suhoftw

This is a blog about K-pop, I do reviews and sometimes opinion pieces+editorials and random shitposts.

Leave a Reply

